theunemploymentchronicles

ADVICE OF THE DAY: KEEP YOUR WORK CLOSE AND YOUR ‘NOs’ STRONGER!

In Life!, Work Series on December 10, 2009 at 6:14 pm

Someone that I work with has a tendency to assign projects to me, then when I’m half in the process, come and take my work in an effort to help despite my “No, that’s fines,” then proceeds to “impress upon me the need for attention to detail” when he find a mistake.

WHAT THE HECK!  How can a person Double Check his or her work if you come and take it when they aren’t even done?

I knew this was going to happen.  Happened Again today!  Stuffing gift cards in envelopes and in the back of my mind planned to check every envelope to make sure there were cards.  Then the guy comes and tells me to wrap it in groups of tens and then proceeds to take a bag full of gift cards with him.  I said, “I can do it,” simultaneously thinking ,”I have to double check that” but somehow my brain froze and my mouth got slow and I couldn’t get it out fast enough. 

I think that is what office culture does to you.  Stops your blood flow and oxygen intake literally and figuratively so that you can’t even say what you want to say anymore for fear of improper tone of voice or all that PC nonsense. Could also be the air condition …

Advice for all you in the future who get jobs … keep your work close and your NOs stronger.

Obsolete When All Are Employed

Leave a Reply

